Brief Blogging Holiday

There will be a short interruption in regularly scheduled blogging- while I’m at home managing my two little sous chefs and attempting to put a worthy feast on the table. I’m not allowing science to interrupt this holiday- and if science is not allowed for a day- neither is blogging…

I will leave you with this- yesterday my two daughters declared themselves ‘dessertatarians’ … they will eat the dessert, the whole dessert and nothing but the dessert!

Maybe we should just skip the turkey and go straight to dessert??!!

I wish all of you that celebrate Thanksgiving a pleasant and safe holiday!

13 thoughts on “Brief Blogging Holiday

  1. Happy Thanksgiving!

    I love dessert (although I’m not particularly fond of pumpkin pie), but I love salty things more. So no skipping the turkey, potatoes and veg for me!

  2. Cath- Thanks and no pumpkin pie in this house. Pumpkin cheesecake. A lot more gets eaten!

    ScientistMother- Thanks and Sure!!

  3. Happy Turkey Day, drdrA! I’m making pumpkin bread pudding with caramel sauce for my little dessertatarian. Parents get the caramel bourbon sauce (or just bourbon). I’ll remember to be very thankful for my many blessings, including my fun job and beautiful family.

  4. Dessertatarianism. Brilliant. I totally should have thought of that when my mother used to try foisting horrible “heritage” holiday meals down our throats when my brother & I were small. Lutefisk is not something anyone should have to endure!

  5. Bugdoc- I’m going to need the recipe for the pumpkin bread pudding with carmel +/- bourbon sauce…. I’m in a diabetic coma just thinking about it! Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!

    Anonymoustache- Thanks for the wishes, thanks for stopping by to read and comment… and Happy Thanksgiving to you too!

    damngoodtechnician-

    ‘Dessertatarianism. Brilliant.’

    Thank you, and what can I say… they are their mother’s daughters… ;-)… well actually,… they are their father’s daughters…

    And- today, the day after the big day… my older one has eaten two meals that consisted only of apple pie and whipped cream.

    She’s definitely a practicing dessertaterian!

    Happy Thanksgiving to you!

  6. Pinus-

    If bugdoc is reluctant to share her (probably prize) family recipe on the web, I will beg, plead, and bribe until she agrees to give it to me privately- then with her permission, I will pass it on to you!

  7. Can’t take credit for the “old family recipe” – I modified a recipe of Emeril’s. You can always count on him for heart-clogging goodness! My substitutions made it a bit lighter, but it is still sinfully delicious. Enjoy –

    Pumpkin Pecan Bread Pudding with Kentucky Bourbon Sauce

    Ingredients

    1 cup heavy cream
    1 1/2 cups whole milk
    5 large eggs (can partially substitute egg beaters)
    1/2 teaspoon grated orange zest
    5 tablespoons sugar
    6 tablespoons light brown sugar
    1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger
    1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
    1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
    1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
    2 tablespoons Grand Marnier
    2 cups cooked and mashed pumpkin or 2 cups canned pumpkin puree
    8 slices or 1 loaf challah bread cut into cubes
    1/2 cup chopped pecans
    1 tablespoon unsalted butter, room temp
    2 cups Kentucky Bourbon sauce (recipe below)

    Directions

    1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Spray an 8-cup casserole or mold with baking spray and set aside.

    2. In a large bowl combine the whole milk, cream, eggs, and orange zest. Add all of the granulated sugar, 4 tablespoons of brown sugar, the ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg, vanilla and Grand Marnier, and whisk together vigorously until well incorporated. Add pumpkin and whisk until incorporated. Fold in the bread and pecans, and mix thoroughly.

    3. Pour the mixture into the prepared casserole, dot with the tablespoon butter, and sprinkle with the remaining 2 tablespoons brown sugar. Bake the bread pudding in the preheated oven until golden brown, about 1 hour (or 1 hour and 15 minutes; while the bread pudding is in the oven, make the Kentucky Bourbon Sauce.)

    4. Serve warm with the Kentucky Bourbon Sauce.

    Makes 8 generous servings

    Kentucky Bourbon Sauce

    Ingredients
    # 1 1/2 cups heavy cream
    # 1 cup half-and-half
    # 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
    # 1/4 cup sugar
    # 1 tablespoon cornstarch
    # 3 tablespoons Kentucky bourbon whisky

    Directions

    1. Heat the cream, half-and-half, vanilla and sugar in a heavy saucepan over high heat, whisking constantly, for 3 minutes. Stir the cornstarch into the bourbon to dissolve.

    2. When bubbles form around the edges of the cream, whisk in the bourbon mixture. As the cream bubbles up, remove the pot from the heat and continue whisking vigorously until well blended and slightly thickened. Place the mixture over low heat and simmer for 1 minute. Serve immediately with the Bread Pudding, or store refrigerated in an airtight container for up to 24 hours.

    NOTE: This sauce is not meant to be thick, but fairly thin.

  8. sounds delish, thank you.

    I will try to find some bread worth making in to pudding so I can get this done!

Leave a Reply

