Shifting Ground

You are probably wondering where I’ve been… and I really have no good excuse other than to say I’ve been hanging out with my daughters and finishing that paper in revision on the side. Doing both of those things is a joy. The children are excited to have me back, I’m excited to have them back- and the paper is – well, the data are just beautiful and that makes writing easy.

Things shifted dramatically at the MrDrA and DrDrA house in the last two weeks. I’ve had my 6 months of near continuous working, and it’s now MrDrA’s turn to go for broke in that department. I’ve wiped two grants off my list of planned re-submissions for the spring- (if they get funded that is). DrMrA’s having a hard time believing that I’m laying off- he keeps telling me that I should work late. But I do not WANT to work late. I want to come home at a reasonable hour and eat dinner with my children like a normal  human being. Saturday I went for a 3 mile walk with my 6 year old (almost 7!)… and I quite enjoyed watching her and the back end of the neighbor’s dog marching proudly down the street, nothing in particular on my mind. Something I wouldn’t have been able to do just a few weeks ago.

Well, it’s back to the manuscript for me, but for one more piece of news. I just realized that my score from the R21 is up on Commons… a 151 on the first submission. I’m pleased and I’d be delighted if that project got paid- since it’s one I’m really going to enjoy doing and think is valuable. But, you know- I can’t believe that things are working out this way. I never, not in a million years, would have anticipated this.

16 thoughts on “Shifting Ground

  1. A 151 on a R21? First submission? NIH Stimulati time? Can you say, “Cha-ching!!”

    I’m always completely cynical until the award letter is in my hot little hands (or e-mail box these days) but I sure hope my sense is what happens for you.

    And 6/almost 7??? Can you say “play date” next time we’re in the area??

    The dual scientist life sucks total and complete ass – best to you and MrDrA for showing us how it’s done!

  2. Abel- I’m keeping my fingers crossed on all counts- until I see the $$ in the account. Then I’m going to stimulate the economy and create some jobs! Play date sounds awesome… I’m sure the little A would enjoy it! Yes, the dual scientist life sucks. It sucked especially badly about two weeks ago when I was sick, totally falling apart and trying to get that resubmission out the door. DrMrA is a saint, and that’s the ONLY way we get through. I’m now in the ‘give’ stage and not in the ‘take’ stage for a while.

    Arlenna- You know, my daughter said to me the other day- ‘Mommy, I want to grow up to be just like you!’. I’m not sure there is a sweeter thing to say. You are on the right path- keep submitting like mad, and you will find yourself in the right place, at the right time, with the right piece of work… and all the stars aligned in your favor.

  3. YAY!! I’ll do a happy dance for you. trust me, your imagination of my happy dance is far better than my actual dancing, so close your eyes and imagine some serious flailing from me. and you should treat yourself to a buttload of whateverfloatsyourboat. I made Janet’s fruitpie – damn, it’s good.

  4. Hey, I have a 6 year-old too… (and a 4 month-old, who is the world’s happiest kid. I was not sure about having a second… but it is just impossible to be other than happy when he smiles. Which is every 5 min. Ahem, sorry, topic…)

    Aidan – the 6 year-old – loves having ‘rat time’ but is still far too interested in being a race car driver and/or basketball player to want to be a scientist. Which is fine :). He did impress my lab folks at our dinner with his knowledge of neuroanatomy..

    [And yeah, I need to get on that ‘apply for stimulation’ right around now…]

    Seriously, a sciblogosphere playdate? That’d be great :-).

  5. jc- That would be shoes. GASP from the BLC readership, and sounds of horror from DrMrA.
    But I’d settle for jewels… or perhaps just a good haircut… and a DOB (day of beauty pampering?)…

    Ewan- Awesome that #2 is the world’s happiest kid- he seems to have your # already. My kids rack tips for money- they bid their parents off against each other. … as in… who pays more per box of tips racked…

  6. Spending time with your daughter is, I think, the best of all possible excuses.

    And congrats on that 151…

  7. Huzzah all round. That story about your kids playing you off each other for tip racking is awesome.

    And please don’t feel the need to apologize for not blogging and instead, gasp, spending time with your real life! Besides, not much to blog about if you never do anything but talk with us 🙂

  8. Dr.J&Mrs.H- Yes, I want to spend some time in my real life. That’s for sure. I also want to get off the electronic leash from time to time! 🙂

    Whimple and C PP- I agree with C PP that jr. faculty shouldn’t get drawn into the 2 year grant to the exclusion of writing the big fish, the R01. I had two R01s in the pipeline at the same time I was writing this R21, one in its second round of review. For me writing the R21 required minimal effort, but I will say that writing it at the same time as I was writing the R01 was, to say the very least, unpleasant.

  9. DrdrA, that’s great news on the score- I hope the $$ comes through.

    Also glad to hear that you now have the time to do normal things. Enjoy your life, don’t worry about the blog, and we will be here when you want to tell us something. 🙂

Leave a Reply

